The Caribbean Science Foundation (CSF), SAGICOR, and the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) believe that, with a little help, Caribbean governments and organizations could significantly boost sustainability in the region. Help is particularly needed in the translation of Science and Technology research into economic benefits. Critical to this effort is involvement at the community level, where residents of local communities are able to make informed decisions about how they can live more sustainably and are involved in proposing and implementing solutions that improve everyone’s wellbeing. These are Sustainable Caribbean Communities (SCC).

In building Sustainable Caribbean Communities there are several characteristics of Caribbean life that must be addressed, including the role of local knowledge, our limited natural resources, and our vulnerability to the impacts of climate change on our food, health, energy, and water security. We strongly believe that innovation in science and technology must play a critical role in overcoming the challenges to building successful sustainable communities.

This Challenge is aimed at secondary school students who are encouraged to identify a challenge facing their respective school or school of choice, and using STEM, develop effective, innovative and sustainable solutions to the challenge identified. These solutions will form the basis of the school’s entry to the Competition. Entries will first be evaluated and judged at the national level in each of the Challenge Countries, with the winning school in each country moving on to the final competition in Barbados where regional winners will be selected. Representatives of national school winners and their respective teachers will also participate in a 7 day all expenses STEM Ambassador Program to Florida.

This challenge is currently being implemented in the following countries: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize,  Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad & Tobago.

For more information visit:

See this years WINNERS!!